Leaders of the Canberra Region tourism industry gathered last night, Friday 23 November 2018, to celebrate another year of success and excellence in tourism at the annual Canberra Region Tourism Awards.

The National Capital Attractions Association together with supporting partner, Visit Canberra, hosted the awards, the most prestigious event in the Canberra region tourism calendar, and were joined by ACT Chief Minister, Andrew Barr, as guests enjoyed the Masquerade themed ball at Hotel Realm’s newly renovated ballroom.

Amongst the major winners were the National Gallery of Australia which won the award for Major Tourist Attraction, making it the second year in a row they have scooped the award in this highly desired category. Questacon – the National Science and Technology Centre won the Tourist Attraction category, having also claimed this prize in 2017.

Other major awards were collected by the Royal Australian Mint which won the Cultural Tourism category (also taking out the Visitor Experience Award), the Australian Institute of Sport’s Experience AIS which won the Specialised Tourism Services category, and the Canberra and Region Visitors Centre which won the Visitor Information Services category.

“We are all so proud of the hard work of our industry partners and the high calibre of experiences available in the capital as a result of those efforts, the visitor economy is going from strength to strength. Canberra and region tourist attractions and tourism businesses really do punch above their weight when it comes to the programs and services on offer here,” said Dr. Naomi Dale, President of the National Capital Attractions Association.

Dr. Dale acknowledged the contribution of Stephen Byron to the Canberra region tourism industry. Mr Byron, Managing Director of the Canberra Airport, this year won the award for Outstanding Contribution by an Individual.

Dr. Dale was also quick to point out the high calibre of accommodation properties in the Canberra region recognised last night, with Jamala Wildlife Lodge, Leumeah Lodge, Little National Hotel and Hyatt Hotel Canberra all winning their respective categories. And she congratulated Destination Southern Highlands which won the Destination Marketing category for Pie Time for the second year running.

All Canberra Region category winners are now off to compete at a national level at the 2018 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards to be held in Launceston in March 2019.

“We know the fabulous pride, determination and commitment held by our tourism industry here in Canberra, and we wish all of our winners the very best when they compete at the Australian Tourism Awards in early 2019,” concluded Dr. Dale.

The full list of award winners can be viewed below. For more information on the awards, visit http://canberratourismawards.com.au/ For more information on the National Capital Attractions Association, visit http://www.nationalattractions.com.au/

Major Tourist AttractionsNational Gallery of Australia
Tourist AttractionsQuestacon – the National Science and Technology Centre
Major Festivals and EventsSummernats
Festivals and EventsCanberra Craft Beer and Cider Festival
Cultural TourismRoyal Australian Mint
Specialised Tourism ServicesExperience AIS
Specialised Tourism ServicesCanberra Centre
Visitor Information ServicesCanberra and Region Visitors Centre
Tour and Transport OperatorsDave’s Travel and Events Group
Destination MarketingDestination Southern Highlands – Pie Time
Tourism Restaurants & Catering ServicesBroadbean Catering and Events
Unique AccommodationJamala Wildlife Lodge
Standard AccommodationLeumeah Lodge
Deluxe AccommodationLittle National Hotel
Luxury AccommodationHyatt Hotel Canberra – A Park Hyatt Hotel
Outstanding Contribution by an IndividualStephen Byron – Canberra Airport
Markus Gibson-Huck Young Achiever AwardCassie Dunchue, Visit Canberra
Markus Gibson-Huck Young Achiever AwardGabrielle Dinn, Broadbean Catering and Events
Visitor Experience AwardRoyal Australian Mint